Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

Spooky Skirts – Halloween with Miss Fortune

Ask my wife and she’ll tell you I’m a right grump when it comes to Halloween. I just can’t seem to get massively excited about it, which probably stems from my parent’s dislike of it. But, thanks to Miss Fortune, I am all over Halloween this year…….

Skirt – ‘Frida Kahlo’ Boardwalk skirt – c/o Miss Fortune
Cardigan – c/o Mak Sweater
Shoes – French Connection
Cat – bonus prop!

Earlier in the year I featured the adorable tape measure print Seamstress skirt and didn’t think she could top it. But then she went and delivered the Frida Kahlo skirt.When Miss Fortune first gave me a preview of this design, I wasn’t sure it was ‘me’. I don’t really know what ‘me’ is, to be honest, but I wasn’t sure this was it. However, approximately 0.5 minutes later I realised just how much I LOVED everything about it and that just because something isn’t my usual style, doesn’t mean I can’t work it. The pattern and colour combinations in this skirt are to die for.

The fabric is a boarder print, featuring illustrations of Frida Kahlo, elegant skeletons and striking florals. It has the most beautiful combination of colours I have ever seen, with accents of aubergine, khaki green, yellows and reds on a deep aubergine blue background. This makes it exceptionally easy to pair with shoes, accessories etc. Miss Fortune has perfectly paired it with a gorgeous green pom-pom trim around the bottom. What’s not to love?! This skirt is actually so beautiful that there is no way I plan on limiting myself to wearing in during October!

Like the Seamstress skirt, the Boardwalk is a gathered midi length skirt, made from 100% cotton. It features a hidden pocket, which is the perfect size for a phone and a lipstick and fastens with a lapped zip and button at the back. The skirt is available in sizes XSmall (24 inch) to XXLarge (38 inch) and the button can be moved to provide the perfect fit.

Now for the bad news….unsurprisingly, the Frida Kahlo skirt sold out in record time over the weekend! However, MissFortune has plenty of other Halloween offerings, including the Boardwalk skirt in the Haunted Hill design priced at £43.99. The Neat-O skirt in Dem Bones (£44.99) and the Fiesta skirt in Hotrod Hearse £45.99). Each of these skirts would look fabulous paired with one of her famous Bobbie jumpers in the Spider Web design. All of Miss Fortune’s skirts are made to order and require 7 days, so please do bear this in mind when placing your order for Halloween. Miss Fortune ships worldwide!

I must say, I really enjoyed shooting these photos! I got to hook up with my favourite local photographer (sorry wife!) and headed down to Aylesbury old town for the evening. Aylesbury isn’t somewhere you’d usually associate with history or beauty, but if you leave the town centre there are some quaint old cobbled streets, lined with gorgeous old buildings. The lighting and feel of the area couldn’t have been better for this spooky skirt! We did attract a fair amount of attention, but thankfully it was all very good natured and almost all complimented the skirt!

Disclaimer – I was kindly gifted this skirt by Miss Fortune. However, this has not in any way influenced my review and all views expressed within this post are an honest reflection of how I feel about this garments.

Leave a Reply

