Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

Beach Ready with Bettylicious

I’ve been a bit absent recently; life got super hectic with work and family life and unfortunately the blog had to take a back seat. But, I’m back and what better way to kick off than with a bikini and accessories review!! I had the pleasure of being able to shoot these photos on the beautiful island of Antigua, where I recently spent a week celebrating my beautiful cousin’s nuptials. With the arrival of Irma it was slightly hit and miss as to whether I’d get the beach shots I’d hoped for, or whether I’d be sideways off a palm tree. Thankfully, it wasn’t the latter….

I first stumbled across Bettylicious through the wonders of Instagram, as with a huge proportion of the brands and shops I now follow and buy from. Initially I just enjoyed browsing their excellent swimwear range from the comfort of my sofa. A couple of months after first discovering them, I heard that they were due to have a stall at a very small war weekend in a village only a few miles from my home. It was then that I first met the very lovely Fiona. She explained how she had recently purchased the business and was now running it between Milton Keynes and the Dorset coast. It has become a family venture, which involves both of her children assisting in the digital side of the business.

When the opportunity to collaborate arose, I absolutely jumped at it, knowing I had an upcoming Caribbean holiday for which I would obviously require new swimwear. I had a seriously hard time selecting from the array of beautiful swimsuits and bikinis features on their website, from brands including Esther Williams Swimwear and Banned Apparel. However, when it came down to it, it would have been a travesty to be taking anything other than a tropical print on holiday to a tropical island!

Bettylicious stocks a couple of different styles in the tropical print and you can mix and match bottoms, so my decision making dilemmas didn’t stop there! As a pear shaped woman, with a 14” difference between my waist and hips, I always find that my body is more suited to high waisted bottoms than low cut. I feel more secure and more comfortable knowing that my abdominal insulation is firmly encased. As such, I went for the high waisted bottoms. With my 28inch waist and 42inch hips I went with in a size 12 and they fit like a dream. These are probably the best bikini bottoms I have ever worn. They feature a strong tummy control panel and a a lightly ruched, super flattering panel across the front. Even a booty as big as mine was fully covered and I had no issues with the old ‘hungry bum’ situation.

For the top, I fancied a bandeau style, since I cannot bear returning from holiday covered in a variety of strap marks, which document my bikini choices in some weird tan tattoo way. What I particularly liked about this top, was the detachable straps. It’s nice to have the option to attach the halter strap to enable me to swim without any worries about the girls making an unwelcome appearance. I particularly love the twist detailing on the centre of the top, and the fact that it features soft and ever so slightly padded cups, to achieve a beautiful shape and disguise any peanut smuggling situations that might arise. My full bust measurement is a modest 35 inches, so I selected this top in a size 10. Whilst wearing it without the strap it felt secure and I wasn’t in constant fear of exposing myself to unsuspecting holiday makers.

The top I am wearing in this set is priced at £28 and the bottoms are currently reduced from £36.50 to £28.

Beyond this stunning set, Bettylicious stocks a whole array of other swimwear, including the mix and match bikinis and one piece costumes. All of these are available in a fantastic variety of prints and  many are currently in the sale. All sizes are listed as UK, though the labels on the swimwear will state US sizes. It is worth using the size chart on the website, just to ensure the perfect fit.

In addition to that, Bettylicious have recently started stocking other essential holiday accessories such as hats, sunglasses and bags. The gorgeous sunglasses I’m wearing are the cat eye Katherine glasses in leopard print, priced at £15 and are also available in black, red and cream. I’m absolutely besotted with these glasses and plan on wearing them right through the winter too; they ooze retro glamour. The gorgeous yellow straw bag, featuring circular cane handles, is priced at £21.99. I used this bag for my whole week away – it’s the perfect size for all your beach or poolside essentials.

Standard shipping is priced at £3.99 within the UK but is free when you spend over £80. Next day delivery is available for £8.50.

Disclaimer – I was kindly gifted the bikini top and bottoms, bag and sunglasses by Bettylicious, however all opinions contained within this review are a true and accurate reflection of my love for these items and have not in any way been influenced.

One thought on “Beach Ready with Bettylicious

  1. In a couple of weird coincidences, I almost booked a Caribbean holiday the same time as you, but changed to Mauritius at the last minute, and while there I reviewed almost the exact same bikini! I had a fixed halter top though, I didn’t realise it came in this bandeau style – it’s really cute. Totally agree with you about how flattering those bottoms are – they held my stomach in like nothing else ever has in the land of swimwear! You look fantastic 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

