Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

Summer Days with Clarice and Thelma – Seamstress of Bloomsbury

 

I’ve long lusted over almost everything from the Seamstress of Bloomsbury’s range, but nothing spoke to me quite like Clarice and Thelma. I loved both items separately, so put them together and I was completely bowled over. It occurred to me that I didn’t actually own any matching sets (I’m not convinced pyjamas count, right) of skirt/top or top/trousers. What better place to start than right here, with this pair.

Clarice is a darling 40s style blouse, featuring gently puffed sleeves, a delicate button front and tie fastening and a sweet little collar. It works beautifully with the Thelma skirt; a late 40s swing skirt with large patch pockets and belt loops (a much under-rated feature on skirts, I find).

 

Whilst there were many different prints to choose from, it was this Seaside one I really fell for. It comprises of blue and white stripes, vibrantly illustrated with tropical islands, boats and fish. Unfortunately, I don’t live near anywhere near the beach….so I had to channel seaside vibes at a local pond (pahah). Thankfully, I have a Caribbean holiday coming up later this year and thanks to its light and floaty, 100% cotton composition this outfit will be the first item into my case!

This set is super versatile. I absolutely adore the two pieces paired with each other and it is the perfect way to look put together with minimal thought. Equally, I can already see myself pairing the blouse with a pair of navy slacks or high waisted jeans and the skirt with a vest or peasant blouse. This kind of versatility is what makes me feel that clothing gives good value for money, as I wont be restricted as to when and where I can wear it.

 

Based on my measurements (bust 35″, waist 28″) I went for a SoB size 12 in both items. The customer service I received was wonderful, and every effort was made to answer the many questions I had regarding size and fit. On reflection, I could have potentially sized down in the top, since it is slightly looser on my bust than I would usually have liked. However, this isn’t necessarily such a bad thing as it gives me much more room to move when holding or playing with my son.

 

 

Clarice is priced at Β£39 and Thelma at Β£55. For the quality of the garment you’ll receive for your money I would definitely say that it is good value.

Unfortunately, Clarice has almost sold out in the Seaside print (if you wear a 14 then go, go, go!). But, don’t despair, for she is available in a total of TWELVE other prints – so you’re sure to find something you want. Thelma is still available in the Seaside print in sizes UK 8 to 16, in addition to eight other prints.

I’ve already started the process of trying to decide on which piece I would choose next from the Seamstress of Bloomsbury range (I’m not an impulse buyer!). At the moment it’s a really tough call between the Marie Dress in the pink floral, the Sweetheart Dress  in lilac or the Gloria jumpsuit. I’d love to know your favourites!

 

 

Clarice Blouse in Seaside – Seamstress of Bloomsbury
Thelma Skirt in Seaside – Seamstress of Bloomsbury
Marissa Sandals – Charlie Stone Shoes

 

Disclaimer – I was kindly provided with a discount on these items by Seamstress of Bloomsbury. However, this has not in any way influenced my review and all views expressed within this post are an honest reflection of how I feel about these garments.

Leave a Reply

