Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

In Paradise with Lady Vintage – The Hepburn Dress

Of all the many, many dress styles on offer from Lady Vintage (aka Lady V London), the Hepburn is probably my favourite. If you’ve followed me for a while, I’m sure it wont be too difficult to work out why. The high neck line, cinched waist and full, below the knee skirt make it elegant, feminine and modest. This has the added bonus for me that I can wear it for both work and play. I was immediately smitten with the Birds of Paradise, which is made in my favourite colour combination of blues and pinks. I can easily say that this is one of the most beautiful prints I own.

Hepburn comes with a matching pale blue belt, allowing you to cinch in the waist. I always tend to wear a belt with swing dresses and it’s lovely to have a dress that comes with one already matching. I made the slightly silly decision to shoot these photos on one of the hottest days of the year so far. As a result I decided not to wear a petticoat, which also reflects my day to day preference. As much as I adore them, they just aren’t practical for daily life. Though obviously, this dress would look stunning with the addition of a petticoat, I still love the shape of it without.

This dress is unlined and is made of 97% cotton and 3% elastane. The fabric composition  makes it lightweight and perfect for warm (and even scorching) summer days. I would say that the sizing on this dress is fairly true to size. The Lady Vintage size chart states that a size 10 has a 34″ bust and 28″ waist. Although my bust is between 35-36″ inches I found that the size 10 fits comfortably, owing to the gentle amount of stretch in the fabric, and the size 12 would have been too large. The only thing that could have improved this dress is the addition of pockets. Because who doesn’t love a pocket.

The downside to Lady Vintage releasing such beautiful dresses, is that they tend to sell out exceptionally fast. Sadly, that means that the Birds of Paradise is currently out of stock in all sizes bar UK 26/28. Don’t let that put you off buying a Hepburn though, as there are so many fabrics to choose from, including plain and patterned variations. Hepburn is priced at £50 and is available in UK sizes 8-28.

Next on my list will be a plan version of the Hepburn – preferably in a pastel hue. It’d be a tough call to choose which other Lady Vintage styles I’d wear, but since I’ve recently been trying to step out of my comfort zone it’d probably have to be something like the Elsie Dress. What’s your favourite style?

Dress – Hepburn in Birds of Paradise c/o Lady Vintage

Sandals – Charlie Stone Shoes
Earings – Bow and Crossbones
Parasol – thrifted

 

 

Disclaimer – I was kindly gifted this dress by Lady Vintage, however all opinions contained within this review are a true and accurate reflection of my love for this garment and have not in any way been influenced.

Leave a Reply

