Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

The Lana Dress – Vivien of Holloway

A little while back I was lucky enough to win a voucher in a competition run by Vivien of Holloway to celebrate their summer sale. I cannot even begin to tell you just how excited I was when I found out I had won. Within approximately 3 minutes of receiving notification I had mentally spent my prize. I had, for a while, been in need of a decent black circle skirt; an absolute pin up wardrobe staple. Knowing the quality of the VoH circle skirts it made absolute sense to bag one with my voucher.

I had been pondering the idea of a Lana dress for a long time but hadn’t been confident enough to commit in the past, since the 1940s style is very different to the full skirted 1950s styles I am comfortable in. All of those doubts began washing away once I laid eyes on the limited edition yellow floral Lana and I just knew I needed to own one. I have somewhat of an obsession with yellow of late and floral designs are always guaranteed to make my heart sing. It was a match made in heaven. So that is where the remainder of my prize went.

On speaking with the super helpful folk at VoH I discovered that my usual VoH size of 14 was out of stock in this colourway. I had previously read other women recommending that the style allows you to size down, so I took a chance and ordered the size 12 (B34, H26, H40). I am actually glad that the 14 wasn’t in stock, as the 12 was absolutely perfect. When the dress arrived I instantly loved it but still felt slightly unsure due to it being so far removed from my usual style. I was slightly concerned that the longer length swamped my 5’4 frame and I toyed with the idea of having it taken up by a few inches. Since receiving these photos back I have warmed to the length and think I’ll keep it as it is, but will probably always need to wear it with heels. The thing that freaked me out most when I received this dress was the shoulder pads. I needn’t have worried though; I feel like they actually complement and balance out my bottom heavy figure, rather than making me feel like an 80’s reject or American football player as I’d initially feared!  I absolutely adore the draped neckline and deep, functional pockets, which add a beautifully luxurious feel to the dress.  One of my favourite things about this dress is that despite it looking like a dry clean only number, it can be washed on a delicate cycle and left to drip dry.

The Lana dress is priced at £99 and is available in VoH vintage sizes 10-18. UK P&P is £5. Sadly and unsurprisingly the yellow floral Lana sold out in a shot. But don’t let that put you off, since there are a further 12 designs available in various sizes at present.  I’ve already had my eyes on the Topaz, Gingham and Tropical versions. These dresses have a tendency to sell out fast, so my advice would be not to hang around if you’ve seen one you love!

I’d like to say a massive thank you to Vivien of Holloway was their super generous prize! Also, thank you to my favourite photographer, Nick (aka 4444), for giving up another evening to shoot these photos for me. I think it’s probably my favourite shoot to date!

Leave a Reply

