Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

Marisa Sandal by Charlie Stone – Review

Despite the well known and somewhat negative English stereotype about white shoes, I’ve always been a fan. There’s something so elegant and beautiful about a dainty pure white sandal. I’ve been on the hunt for a pair of flat soled, white sandals for what felt like an eternity, but I’d not been able to find something that ticked all the boxes. Until Marisa. Like many a modern day love story, I stumbled upon Charlie Stone via Instagram. I was instantly head over heels (yeah, I went there) with the Marisa sandal. The ankle strap, the gently rounded peep toe, the cut out detailing. They were literally everything I had been looking for.

On speaking to the super lovely and very helpful Samantha from Charlie Stone, I was advised that Marisa ran large and I should therefore size down from my usual size 38 (UK 5) to a 37. I’m glad I took this advice; the 37 fits perfectly and I do think that the 38 would have been a little roomy. Having made my selection my dream sandals embarked on the journey from Australia, where Charlie Stone is based, to the UK. The shipping was super quick and they arrived in no time at all. They were presented in a Charlie Stone dust bag, with each sandal then wrapped inside a further dust bag – a wonderful touch that definitely added a feeling of luxury to the unwrapping.

I wish my words and these pictures could do justice to these gorgeous shoes and the quality of them. I have genuinely never felt leather so soft and these are probably the most comfortable shoes to have ever graced my feet. All the women in my family, with whom I spent the bank holiday weekend, were blown away by the butter-softness of the leather. Even the sole is 100% leather and has the most beautiful texture. I was almost a little sad when I first wore them outside for these photos, as the soles felt too lovely to mark! The only downside to the choice of material for the sole is that they are not suitable to be worn in wet weather, as they are prone to absorbing moisture. This is likely to be more of an issue in the UK than Australia, but not one that would deter me from wearing them at every (dry) opportunity! They fasten with a side buckling ankle strap and feature a slightly raised heel for added comfort.

Marisa is available in size 35-41 and is priced at $160 Aus (approx £92.68). They aren’t by any means the cheapest sandals on the market, but appear to be fairly priced amongst other similar quality shoes from other reproduction brands. Based on the quality and comfort of them, I would hand on heart say that they are worth every single penny. Unfortunately, there are currently no UK retailers of Charlie Stone, which means that you’ll need to order direct from their website. I’m hoping that this will change at some point, as it seems such a shame that there isn’t a retailer in this country. Charlie Stone’s shipping is a flat rate of $10 Aus, which at the current exchange rate works out at £5.79 – a bargain considering many UK companies charge £5+ for UK shipping! It is, however, worth bearing in mind that you are likely to end up paying customs fees on receipt and is therefore wise to factor these into your budget.

I can tell that Marisa is going to very quickly become a wardrobe staple for me this summer; I struggle to think of anything in my wardrobe that they wouldn’t look cute with! It’s safe to see you’ll be seeing a lot of these over the summer…



Sunglasses – Tiffany
Dress and belt – Collectif
Sandals – Marisa c/o Charlie Stone

 

Disclaimer – I was kindly gifted these sandals by Charlie Stone, however all opinions contained within this review are a true and accurate reflection of my love for these beautiful shoes and have not in any way been influenced!

Leave a Reply

