Product Reviews

Voodoo Vixen SS17 – Amber dress review

I was really excited for the Voodoo Vixen SS17 collection to drop. Having massively upped their game over the past few years the AW16 was one of my favourites to date, so I had a strong feeling that this new collection would not disappoint. My hopes were confirmed when I got a sneak peak at the look book and i began to make a mental list of my wish list. The range features an array of bright, fresh colours, florals and stripes on summer dresses, blouses, shorts and playsuits. There is something to suit everyone.

The item that immediately caught my attention in the look book was the Amber dress and its striking electric blue colouring. Any item of clothing featuring a floral print is likely to get my vote but I loved that the Amber dress has been designed in bold contrasting colours.

IMG_2140

One of the first questions I was always ask myself with a new item of clothing is ‘can I wear it to work?’. I spend so much of my life at work that it would be crazy to have a wardrobe that I can’t wear on a day to day basis. I recently took up a new position in NHS management, so have to be extra cautious about what I wear. Amber struck me as being perfect for the workplace – the length is spot on, the cleavage not overly plunging and the cap sleeves cover my shoulders. It ticks every dress code box and would be equally at home in a meeting as on a night out. This makes me happier than you could ever know.

The variety of colours means that your options for co-ordinating accessories is almost endless. I went with pink, for no reason other than I LOVE pink. I can totally see myself styling the dress with green or yellow shoes/jewellery/flowers in the near future.

IMG_2138

The dress fastens at the back with an invisible zip and features a pleated bust, cross over bodice and adorable cap style sleeves. The fabric is 100% polyester and unlined, making it lightweight and perfect for summer. One thing I really noticed when shooting this dress is that the fabric moves beautifully. My one warning would be not to wear it on a super breezy day, like I did, as its floaty nature wont necessarily preserve your dignity. If you do, a petticoat is your friend 😉

IMG_2116

IMG_2119

Amber is priced at £45 and made in size S-XL. As with previous Voodoo Vixen dresses I went with a size S (although I often fall into the M range) – which fit my 36-28-42 figure perfectly. At present it is out of stock on the Voodoo Vixen website (it’s really no surprise that so many ladies snapped it up so fast) and have sadly been informed that due to a production problem it is unlikely to return. There are, however some independent stockists that still have this dress available, including Top Vintage. If you want it, I wouldn’t hang around, as it’s unlikely to be available for long.

Finally, I must say thank you to my wife for spending the day with me at the stunning Castle Ashby taking these photos =)

IMG_2134

Dress – Amber c/o Voodoo Vixen
Hair flower – c/o Rockabilly Red

IMG_2109

IMG_2138

IMG_2149

IMG_2173

Disclaimer – I was kindly gifted this dress by Voodoo Vixen, however all opinions contained within this review are a true and accurate reflection of my love for this garment and have not in any way been influenced!

Leave a Reply

