Sewing and Pattern Reviews

New Look 6457 pattern review

20160118_201212

Another witty, snappy and original title, you say? I know, I’ve excelled myself this time!

This review has taken forever to put up; in no small part because the dress took me forever to finish. I initially started making this dress during a dress making class at the beginning of the year and finally completed the finishing touches a few weeks ago. Since then I’ve worn it a couple of times and am really rather proud of my efforts.

I elected to make option A as it was the closest to the style of summer dress I currently covet. The fabric is some gorgeous woven dogtooth print that I picked up for the bargain price of £2 per metre. The downside to the fabulous fabric? It frays like a b*tch and pattern made me completely cross eyed by the end of construction!!

20160118_203746

20160131_155527

IMG_1133 (2)

The construction as a whole was relatively straight forward and suitable for a novice like myself. The mistakes I made (such as slashing open the back whilst attempting to unpick the zip) were caused by tiredness and tardiness as opposed to faults with the pattern itself.

For reference, my current stats are 36-28-42. Based on the measurement provided I cut out a size 12. It did unfortunately require a few adjustments, including taking approximately two inches out of the back section once the whole dress was assembled. The dress seems to gape around the under arms, though I suspect that this is a result of he fabric becoming stretched during construction. I addressed this issue by adding a hook and eye at the top of the zip to cinch it in a bit more.

The bows were a personal addition, based on the fact that I believe everything looks better with a bow on! =D

IMG_1139 (2)

IMG_1145

Would I use this pattern again? Most definitely yes, but I’d need to make some adjustments to the pattern before doing so. I’d take a small amount off each bodice panel to ensure it fits perfectly. I’m also a fan of a slightly fuller skirt and would probably therefore add in a few more inches of fabric to the skirt, which would also allow me to wear a petticoat if I wish. I fully intend on pairing this dress with some coloured tights (I’m thinking mustard) and knitwear to take it through the British autumn.

If anyone else has made this pattern I’d love to see your results!

IMG_1138 (2)

Leave a Reply

