Fashion Picks · Product Reviews

Once, twice, three times a Birdie

IMG_1042

A couple of months ago, I stumbled upon a photo of the Birdie dress, by PinUp Girl Clothing, aka PUG. From that moment onwards I knew I had to own, at the very least, one of these dresses. So imagine my joy when I grabbed a pink one on ebay, new with tags. Sadly, when the dress arrived the dart seams were pulled and I had to send the dress back from whence it came. To say I was devastated would be a understatement.

IMG_1080 (2)

Fast forward another few weeks and someone popped up on my facebook feed, selling both the pink AND the lilac. I snapped them up and had them shipped to me from Australia, for a grand total of around £30 per dress, plus customs. These dresses have literally done a round the world tour!

IMG_1055 (2)

IMG_1060 (2)

IMG_1053 (2)

I was totally overjoyed when they arrived and super excited to get them all over my body! The weight and feel of the fabric is beautiful and exactly the quality that PUG have become known for. My waist currently fluctuates between 28 and 30 inches, so I bought these in a size medium. The waist fits absolutely perfectly, though snug after a large meal. This dress retailed in the UK for £125. Certainly not a cheap item, but I’d say it’s pretty worth it.

IMG_1039 (2)

IMG_1037 (2)

Unfortunately, the bust and bodice on this dress is rather large. I’m currently a 32D and struggled to fill the top. This meant that it gaped and risked what little dignity I have left. To get around this I have pinned the collar together at the cleavage. I will sometimes wear a cami vest underneath the dress. Unfortunately, the problem I had with the seams on the previous dress I bought, appeared to not be exclusive to that item. The separation at the seams appears more noticeable on the pink dress, due to the darker colour.

IMG_1065

My final gripe with this dress is that the belt appears to be disproportionately small compared to the waist measurement. I’m sure I’ve seen some other ladies mention this issue too.

IMG_1021 (2)

IMG_1020 (2)

Clearly, those slight niggles weren’t enough to stop me falling in love with and subsequently purchasing a third member of the birdie family. Introducing beautiful blue….

IMG_0994 crop

IMG_1014 (2)

Uhhhh, this dress!!! I snapped up this one on ebay, for the very pleasant price of £75. I don’t think I’ve ever owned a dress that makes me feel as beautiful and colourful as this does. I’ve also never owned a dress that has garnered as many compliments as this one. This is a dress that is too stunning to be kept in the wardrobe, so I’ve been known to wear them to work (sans petticoat and heels obviously). I’m almost tempted to buy it in the other colour ways, but fear that may be excessive.

So, there you have it: the dress I loved so much I bought it thrice! Has anyone else ever loved a dress so much that one just wasn’t enough?

IMG_1012 (2)

IMG_1009 (2)

5 thoughts on “Once, twice, three times a Birdie

  1. lush! Want one! hey do you know that advert – I think it is for galaxy chocolate and the girl is on a bus and a guy pulls up in a car next to the bus and she gets out wearing this gorgeous retro dress and just gets in the back like he is her chauffeur and starts eating chocolate? Anyway I want a dress like that! if you can find me where to get one you can win a prize! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

