Product Reviews

Magic is the Female

SAM_2664 (2)

This post has been a long time in the making! Unfortunately I am currently drowning in work – from both my full time job and my degree. I’m due to hand my dissertation in at the beginning of August and until that time my posts are likely to be slightly sporadic.

This skirt is the first item I bought from the Magic of Mary Blair collection by Pinup Girl Clothing and it certainly didn’t disappoint. On the way down to Cornwall for a family holiday in May I took a rather large detour to visit the Deadly Is The Female boutique in the cute town of Frome, Somerset. I didn’t have a particular item in mind, I just wanted to visit the bricks and mortar shop of a company whose website I had regularly fawned over for approximately a year. Having arrived at the boutique we were given a warm welcome by Claudia, who owns and runs Deadly. The shop is petite but fits a beautiful array of the most stunning garments known to man and the customer service is second to none.

The first item I tried on was the Aurora Castle dress, which I have been swooning over for a number of months. Sadly I found that whilst it was perfect on the waist it was ill fitting on the bodice. As a result I came to the conclusion that a skirt would be a sound purchase and something that would transition well through the crazy British seasons. At this point in time, I didn’t own any items in lilac (this has since changed!!) and the Mary Blair Lips and Roses print in lilac really jumped out at me. At ¬£85 it is definitely at the higher end of what I would pay for a skirt (the most ever in fact), but the quality of this skirt is undeniable. The cotton is medium weight, meaning that is hangs perfectly without feeling bulky. The length is something that I initially felt unsure about but has definitely grown on me. At the grand old age of 28 I’ve begun to feel more conscious about baring too much leg – this skirt feels so feminine and pretty whilst allowing me to feel comfortable. I absolutely love that it can be dressed up with a petticoat and heels but is equally beautifil worn as a casual piece with some pumps. I think the only thing that could improve this skirt is a slightly wider waistband. Just for reference, as with all my items of PUG, I bought the size M, which is a perfect fit.

It’s going to be my go to skirt this summer, for all occasions from dinner out to country dog walks in the evening. All I can say is that it’s very unlikely this will be my final Mary Blair item and it’s unlikely to be my final visit to Deadly!

Vest – Topshop
Skirt – Lips and Roses, Mary Blair for Pinup Girl Clothing. Purchased from Deadly is the Female.
Cardigan – M&S, via a charity shop
Pumps – New Look
Sunglasses – Deadly

SAM_2660 (2)

SAM_2605 (3)

SAM_2677 (2)

SAM_2673 (2)

SAM_2637 (2)

SAM_2648 (3)

Leave a Reply

